Home‎ > ‎Liturgy Comittee‎ > ‎

Liturgy Committee - Lent

Seasons of the Liturgical year

Lent is one of the major liturgical seasons of the Catholic Church. It follows “Ordinary Time” and its liturgical color is PURPLE . Lent is a penitential season, a time of preparation for Easter, marked by prayer, fasting and abstinence, and almsgiving or good works. It is the 40 days from Ash Wednesday through Holy Saturday. It recalls Jesus’ 40-day fast in the wilderness.

Lent comes from the Germanic word for “springtime” and can be viewed as a spiritual spring cleaning: a time for taking spiritual inventory and then cleaning out those things which hinder our personal relationship with Jesus Christ and our service to Him.


Three crosses
Lenten Crosses

Nativity’s Way of Changing Hearts of Stone to Loving Hearts

Take notice of the “Stones on the Crosses” at each entrance to the House of the Church. Each word on each stone reminds us that we must be striving NOT to be like these words, but to become more like the word on the OTHER SIDE of each stone- the LOVING HEART side. During this Lenten season, each time you come into the House of the Church and resolve to turn your heart into a loving heart, TURN OVER a stone and display the HEART. By the time EASTER arrives, we should see each cross covered with hearts – a display of the love that exists in our Nativity family.